Latest News

Course 23 graduates from Australian Rural Leadership Program

24 October 2017

Last week the final session of Course 23 of the Australian Rural Leadership Program (ARLP) was held in Canberra. The main focus of the session was on the theory and practice of advocacy and influence, particularly at the national level.

The group had meetings and interacted in context with various leaders who have national responsibilities. Participants met with a number of political representatives at Parliament House, who discussed their perspectives of leadership, including:

  • the Hon Barnaby Joyce MP, Deputy Prime Minister
  • Senator the Hon Fiona Nash, Deputy Leader of the Nationals,
  • the Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP, Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  • Cathy McGowan AO, MP, Member for Indi, VIC and graduate of Course 3
  • Rebekha Sharkie MP, Member for Mayo, SA
  • Daryl Karp, Director of the Museum of Australian Democracy,
  • Daryl Quinlivan, Secretary of the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

The week included a number of other relationship and network building experiences, such as a shared meal with the Torres Strait Women’s Leadership Program and individual presentations.

The week culminated with the Course 23 Graduation Ceremony, the first Regional Leadership Assembly and the ARLF 25th Anniversary Gala Dinner.

As part of the graduation ceremony, participants who undertook the Graduate Certificate of Australian Rural Leadership through James Cook University were presented with their certificates.

The 2017 John Allwright Memorial Address was also presented during the ceremony by past ARLP graduates, Sarah Crooke – Course 1, Gondowring, Victoria and Matt Barwick – Course 21, Newcastle, NSW. They shared their experiences during the program and its impact on their development as leaders.


Suzanne AndrewsCairns, QLDAustralian Government Department of Health
Jennifer WressellGeelong, VICAustralian Government Department of Health
Matthew BraddSydney, NSWCotton Research and Development Corporation, Auscott Limited and Cotton Australia
Meagan LaidlawNewstead, QLDCotton Research and Development Corporation, Auscott Limited and Cotton Australia
Duncan BremnerYass, NSWAgriFutures
Kathy BurnsTennant Creek, NTAustralia Council for the Arts
Alysha HerrmannRiverland, SAAustralia Council for the Arts
Angela DoeringCrooble, NSWGrains Research and Development Corporation
Neale SuttonMoorabbin, VICGrains Research and Development Corporation
Catrina Felton-BuschMount Isa, QLDJames Cook University
Kristian HolzSydney, NSWNSW Department of Primary Industries
Carol HugginsHay, NSWAustralian Wool Innovation
Bert MatthewsHay, NSWAustralian Wool Innovation
Helen JenkinsCairns, QLDFisheries Research and Development Corporation
Nathan Maxwell-McGinnPerth, WAFisheries Research and Development Corporation
Alex OggFremantle, WAFisheries Research and Development Corporation
Murray KorffCairns, QLDAustralian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Rebecca LommanSt George, QLDAustralian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Andrew LuiThursday Island, QLDTorres Strait Regional Authority
Stephen MartinJondaryan, QLDAustralian Lot Feeders’ Association
Rachaele MayBallarat, VICVIC Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
Sally MitchellTorrumbarry, VICGardiner Foundation
Jeremy MortonMoulamein, NSWRicegrower’s Association of Australia
Todd NewtonInverell, NSWAustralian Meat Processor Corporation
Ben PaxtonMcLaren Vale, SAWine Australia
Steven PocockAdelaide River, NTFairfax Agricultural Media
Edwina SharrockTamworth, NSWPrime Super
Alistair SherwinBroome, WAAustralia Government Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Fiona ShiltonMurray Bridge, SAWoolworths
Annabel SidesInverell, NSWNSW Local Land Services
Michelle SmallmanPerth, WACBH Group
Marion Louise TaylorAlice Springs, NTNT Government Department of Transport
William WilsonCalliope, QLDMeat and Livestock Australia
Rose WrightKingscliff, NSWThyne Reid Foundation