Latest News

Diverse leaders chosen for iconic leadership program

10 May 2017

Thirty-three leaders from diverse industries, communities and backgrounds have been selected to undertake the iconic Australian Rural Leadership Program (ARLP) announced Matt Linnegar, Chief Executive of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.

The ARLP is a 15-month leadership program which takes place across Australia and Indonesia, immersing rural, regional and remote leaders in a series of unique experiences to develop their leadership capabilities.

“The selected leaders have undergone a rigorous selection process to be chosen for Course 24 of the ARLP. They come from all walks of life and these unique backgrounds will make for a rich and diverse program,” said Matt.

“These leaders are sponsored by our generous partners, who provide a $55,000 scholarship for each participant to undertake the program. Our partners believe that developing leaders is crucial for the greater good of rural, regional and remote Australia.”

During the program the participants will develop as leaders through challenging their own behaviours, thinking and actions, and those of others. They will develop relationships to form a network of supportive leaders.

“Throughout the program the leaders will travel to locations across Australia, including the remote Kimberley region in Western Australia and to Indonesia for the international component of the program,” said Matt.

The participants will commence their first session of the program in Darwin in July, before travelling to the Kimberley region for an experiential component of the program.

 ARLP Course 24




Nathan AdamsAugusta WAFisheries Research and Development Corporation
Dr Cameron BellSpring Gully VICVIC Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
Owen BrinsonSilvan VICThe William Buckland Foundation
Andrew BulmerCalulu VICAustralian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Timothy ChaffeyQuirindi NSWCotton Research and Development Corporation, Auscott Limited and Cotton Australia
Belinda ChambersRutherglen VICWine Australia
Dale ChapmanPomona QLDAustralian Government Prime Minister and Cabinet
Dr Alexander DunnWeipa QLDPrime Super
Timothy FerraroDubbo NSWNSW Local Land Services
Luke GaynorWagga Wagga NSWNSW Department of Primary Industries
Katherine GunnCurlewis NSWGrains Research and Development Corporation
Ronald HibmaSale VICGardiner Foundation
Barbara HowardPerth WAAustralia Council for the Arts
Amanda JohnstonCloverdale WACBH Group
Paula JohnstonBelgian Gardens QLDJames Cook University
Simone JolliffeEuberta NSWDairy Australia
Rachel KellyMoama NSWRicegrower’s Association of Australia
David KimmorleyHannaford QLDMeat and Livestock Australia
Stacey LugsdinHay NSWAustralian Wool Innovation
Richard MaloneGriffith NSWCotton Research and Development Corporation, Auscott Limited and Cotton Australia
Johani MamidBroome WAAustralian Government Prime Minister and Cabinet
William McCrohonMerungle Hill NSWAustralian Lot Feeders’ Association
Patricia McKenzieCunnamulla QLDMeat and Livestock Australia
Grant MelroseWarwick QLDAustralian Meat Processor Corporation
Rebecca MillikenWagga Wagga NSWRural Industries Research and Development Corporation
Donna MurrayWanniassa ACTAustralian Government Prime Minister and Cabinet
Freda NichollsJones Creek NSWWoolworths
Lynda O’BrienCharters Towers QLDMeat and Livestock Australia
Jason PhielerAireys Inlet VICAustralian Government Department of Health
Aaron ScheidDalby QLDAustralian Pork Limited
Lillian ShibasakiThursday Island QLDTorres Strait Regional Authority
Kirrilee WarrYuna WA,Grains Research and Development Corporation
Katherine WaterhouseCanberra ACTAustralian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources