Latest News

Leaders meet in Darwin to commence iconic leadership program

25 July 2017

Thirty-three Australian leaders from diverse industries, communities and backgrounds arrived in Darwin yesterday to commence the iconic Australian Rural Leadership Program (ARLP) Course 24.

These rural, regional and remote leaders are immersed in a series of unique experiences during the 15-month leadership program, which takes place over five sessions across Australia and Indonesia.

The first session commences in Darwin with an introduction before the participants travel to the Kimberley to take part in a challenging experiential component of the program and engage with local Indigenous communities.

“The first session of the program is about understanding self and others to develop as leaders. This group will get to know one another with experiences that they will remember for the rest of their lives,” said Matt Linnegar, Chief Executive of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation.

“The basis of the program is: Experience, Reflect, Develop and Influence. We give participants experiences that challenge, time for reflection to understand, development to become an intuitive leader, and finally the capacity to influence change for the greater good of Australia.”

“The remoteness of the Kimberley removes the participants from the distractions of modern day life. This enables them to focus on their contribution as leaders in their community, industry and workplace.”

“I still remember my Kimberley experiences back in 2000, the relationships I formed back then are still an important part of my life.”

“I’m looking forward to reconnecting with my cohort and other alumni at our 25th Anniversary Celebrations on 20 October in Canberra,” said Matt.

The Australian Rural Leadership Foundation has been developing leaders for 25 years and the celebrations in October are an opportunity to reconnect with participants and partner organisations.

More information on our 25th Anniversary Celebrations



Nathan AdamsAugusta WAFisheries Research and Development Corporation
Dr Cameron BellSpring Gully VICVIC Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources
Owen BrinsonSilvan VICThe William Buckland Foundation
Andrew BulmerCalulu VICAustralian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Timothy ChaffeyQuirindi NSWCotton Research and Development Corporation, Auscott Limited and Cotton Australia
Belinda ChambersRutherglen VICWine Australia
Dale ChapmanPomona QLDDepartment of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Dr Alexander DunnWeipa QLDPrime Super
Timothy FerraroDubbo NSWNSW Local Land Services
Luke GaynorWagga Wagga NSWNSW Department of Primary Industries
Stacey GilesRockhampton, QLDDepartment of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Katherine GunnCurlewis NSWGrains Research and Development Corporation
Ronald HibmaSale VICGardiner Foundation
Barbara HowardPerth WAAustralia Council for the Arts
Amanda JohnstonCloverdale WACBH Group
Paula JohnstonBelgian Gardens QLDJames Cook University
Simone JolliffeEuberta NSWDairy Australia
Rachel KellyMoama NSWRicegrower’s Association of Australia
David KimmorleyHannaford QLDMeat and Livestock Australia
Stacey LugsdinHay NSWAustralian Wool Innovation
Richard MaloneGriffith NSWCotton Research and Development Corporation, Auscott Limited and Cotton Australia
Johani MamidBroome WADepartment of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
William McCrohonMerungle Hill NSWAustralian Lot Feeders’ Association
Patricia McKenzieCunnamulla QLDMeat and Livestock Australia
Grant MelroseWarwick QLDAustralian Meat Processor Corporation
Rebecca MillikenWagga Wagga NSWRural Industries Research and Development Corporation
Freda NichollsJones Creek NSWWoolworths
Lynda O’BrienCharters Towers QLDMeat and Livestock Australia
Jason PhielerAireys Inlet VICAustralian Government Department of Health
Aaron ScheidDalby QLDAustralian Pork Limited
Lillian ShibasakiThursday Island QLDTorres Strait Regional Authority
Kirrilee WarrYuna WA,Grains Research and Development Corporation
Katherine WaterhouseCanberra ACTAustralian Government Department of Agriculture and Water Resources