Our Board

The Board of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation establishes our organisation’s strategic direction, monitors progress towards the achievement of strategic priorities and performs a very important governance function for the organisation.

The role of the Board is defined in the ARLF Board Charter.

As a company limited by guarantee, our governing documents include a Constitution.

The ARLF is a Deductible Gift Recipient and is registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commission.

Honorary Fellow membership nominations open until 13 September 2021

The ARLF Board of Directors is now receiving nominations for the membership category of Honorary Fellow. Honorary Fellow membership is the highest honour category of the ARLF. Further information about how to make a nomination is available in Latest News

Our Constitution

ARLF Constitution

ARLF Strategic Plan Summary

ARLF Board Charter

Board of Directors

The governance of the Foundation is overseen by a Board of Directors.

Mr Michael Carroll


Michael Carroll was appointed Chair of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation in March 2016, and he first joined the Foundation Board in November 2015. He has more than 25 years of experience in food and agribusiness with current directorships including Paraway Pastoral Company, Rural Funds Management, Viridis Ag, Genetics Australia and the Regional Investment Corporation. Mike is also a member of the Marcus Oldham Agricultural College Foundation. Former board roles include Select Harvests, Elders, Sunny Queen,  Tassal, Warrnambool Cheese & Butter, Queensland Sugar, Rural Finance Corporation, the Australian Farm Institute and Meat and Livestock Australia and the Geoffrey Gardiner Dairy Foundation.

Mike held senior positions at the National Australia Bank and Monsanto Agricultural Products. His family have farmed at Mudgegonga for over 150 years and Mike has a property in southwest Victoria. Mike holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science from La Trobe University and a Master of Business Administration from Melbourne University Business School. He completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School, Boston and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sylvia Admans

Sylvia has over 40 years professional experience, working across government, not for profit, and commercial sectors. Her most recent 20 years was spent in the philanthropic sector where she was CEO of the R E Ross Trust and CEO of the Foundation for Rural & Regional Renewal (FRRR) where she established the Foundation in Bendigo, Vic. Across both these roles she has made a significant contribution to place based and community philanthropy.

She hails from Yetman in northern NSW, is a qualified Librarian, a graduate of the Australian Rural Leadership Program, a Fellow of the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation, a Churchill Fellow and holds a Diploma from the Institute of Company Directors. She is a Director of the Inner North Community Foundation.

She lives with her partner David in Melbourne.


Margaux Beauchamp

Margaux Beauchamp is a seasoned corporate, capital and value advisor with more than 30 years of experience. Her particular expertise is in advising on food and agribusiness divestments, acquisitions, IPOs, takeovers, and takeover defence mandates. Margaux leads BDO Brisbane’s Food and Agribusiness Sector Group.

Margaux is a non-executive director, CPC Group Holdings Pty Ltd, an Australian managed, UK owned Agrifood business that owns and operates a portfolio of 9 cattle stations and two feedlots in Indonesia; and Mulgowie Fresh Pty Ltd, a large Australian horticultural company with operations in South-East Queensland, North Queensland, Gippsland Victoria, and Northern New South Wales. She was raised on a cattle station in Far Western Queensland and maintains a private investment in the beef industry, spending considerable time each year in regional Australia.

Margaux holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Economics (Honours) from the University of New England and a Master of Commerce from the University of Queensland. She is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Anna Carr

Graduate of ARLP Course 20, Dr Anna Carr was elected to the Foundation Board at the 2015 AGM. Anna is a leadership coach, a social scientist and a facilitator of futures for society, technology and the environment. Anna is happiest working in agricultural industries. Previously Anna has worked for all three tiers of government, in academia in Australia, UK and USA and in the community sector. Anna is from Allanooka in the northern wheat belt in WA. She has a PhD in resource management and environmental stewardship and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Rob Dulhunty

Rob Dulhunty joined the Foundation Board in November 2015. He brings extensive experience in leadership and advisory roles in the regional space. Since 2011, Rob has been Chair of Landcare New South Wales, and is Manager at Nant Pastoral Co Pty Ltd. Rob’s Landcare roots extend back to his roles as Vice-Chairman and a Founding member of Landcare NSW, from 2006-2011. He is also a member of the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage Ministerial Roundtable, in an advisory role to Minister for the Environment.

Melissa Fletcher

Melissa is a Kamilaroi woman from Moree now residing in Dubbo in NSW and a graduate from Course 18 of the Australian Rural Leadership Program. Melissa is the CEO of Fletcher International Exports Pty. Ltd as well as an owner of a small business with outlets in Brisbane and Dubbo. Melissa has previously served as a Director of the Albany Port Authority, General Manager of Fletcher International, WA and as Indigenous Liaison at St Patricks Senior College in Mackay, Qld.

Rick Sawers

Rick is from Alexandra Victoria and now resides in Melbourne and joined the Foundation Board in March 2016. He has over 45 years of experience as a senior executive with several large, Australian, listed corporations, he has extensive experience working in international locations in financial services, markets, trade, strategy and risk management.  In addition, Rick, is an experienced company director, including past roles as Chair of the Board and Chair of key Board sub-committees, contributing high standards of corporate governance and extensive strategy formulation and execution experience. Rick has held roles as  Executive Chair of Great Western Bancorporation (USA), Chair of the Australian Financial Markets Association, Deputy Chair of Export Finance Australia, (formerly EFIC), and Executive Director of Clydesdale Bank PLC, (now Virgin Money UK).