First Nations leadership program cohort announced 

We are excited to announce the Milparanga Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Emerging and Established Leadership Program cohorts. A total of 45 participants hail from every state and territory, span an age group from 20 to over 50 years and represent a variety of industries. 

For the first time the program distinguishes between emerging and established leadership participants since rebranding in late 2021. 

Program Manager Grant Cameron said the split ensures participants at every level of leadership get the most out of the program. 

‘Milparanga has always had fantastic applicants from both the very start of their leadership journey as well as established and significant changemakers,’ he said. 

‘For both groups to reach their full potential, we identified the need to tailor the learning experience.’ 

The program team also plans a third program focusing on international cross-cultural connections to be announced in the near future. 

‘There always has and always will be a strong connection between First Nations people from all around the world,’ Grant said. 

‘We want to use this experience to leverage this relationship as it provides valuable insights into leadership, progress, and self-determination.’ 

Emerging Leadership Program participants will get together in Far North Queensland in late March: 

  • Chloe Wegener 
  • John West 
  • Jasmin L’Green 
  • Brody Rigg 
  • Luke Gladman-Pitts 
  • Samantha McLean 
  • Leanne Windle 
  • Damion Hunter 
  • Laura Smith 
  • Cailebb Duncan 
  • Philip Muston  
  • Jade Clarke 
  • Jodie Ward 
  • Maureen Underwood 
  • Catrina Smith 
  • Carissa Daisy 
  • Jacqueline Price 
  • Melissa Lightburn 
  • Leanne Troth 
  • Lydia Gebadie 
  • Isaka Ghee 
  • Mary Bond-Cottis 
  • Laurie Elisala 
  • Areetha Fay-Tull 
  • Elsie Sebasio  

Established Leadership Program participants will meet in Southern Queensland in May: 

  • Muriel Bin Dol 
  • Jason Brown 
  • Birrunga Wiradyuri 
  • Genus Passi 
  • Ian RT Colless 
  • Jamin Hickey 
  • Melissa Tanner  
  • Jordan Dwyer 
  • Samantha Bliss 
  • Ailsa Lively 
  • Dean Jard 
  • Adam Gowen 
  • Patricia Pedro 
  • Mitch Dunn 
  • Lauren Rogers  
  • Kylie Bishop 
  • Matthew Cooper 
  • Birrin Hooper 
  • Kaylene McLeod 

The Emerging and Established Leadership Program scholarships are funded by the National Indigenous Australian Agency, the Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, the Torres Strait Regional Authority and the Indigenous Land and Sea Corporation. 

The program is funded by the National Indigenous Australians Agency. It is supported by the Thyne Reid Foundation and Minderoo Foundation’s Generation One initiative. 

Blog categories
Support rural leaders!

Help us deliver programs to more people in more places. Every donation makes a difference.

Upcoming events

Popular articles

05 Feb

February 2024 Alumni Connect
Welcome to 2024!  Generally, January gives us a bit...

14 Dec

Without arts and culture, we may as well be living on Mars
We’re a cultural powerhouse, boldly asserting our distinct...

05 Feb

Chief Executive Update
Firstly, a very warm welcome to 2024 for...

Sign up for our monthly newsletter

Verified by MonsterInsights